Quantcast

Welcome.

PAPER/PLATES is a
literary food blog, for readers with good taste.

The TBR List: March 2017

The TBR List: March 2017

A notable aspect of The Mothers — the basis of March's literary recipe — was Nadia’s preoccupation with how her and her mother’s lives could have been different if they’d made different choices, and she was weighed down by these what-could-have-beens.

With the mind-boggling tonnage of political news bearing down on us each day in the U.S., we need the light-hearted happenings of the bookish world to keep us from getting trapped in unending what-ifs. So, here are some bookish things that have recently made me smile.

- His Dark Materials fans rejoice! Philip Pullman to release a new trilogy starting this fall, set in the same world(s). Lyra is involved in the story, but Pullman says to consider this a “companion” to the previous series, rather than an extension.

- The Book Oscars! brought to you by LitHub.

Emma Straub is opening a bookstore in New York! She’s the author of Laura Lamont’s Life in Pictures, The Vacationers, and Modern Lovers—all three of which I’ve read and loved, and two of which I’ve previously reviewed for PAPER/PLATES.

- Um, yes please: Four Fantasy Must Reads for Jane Austen Fans.

- For fans of A Darker Shade of Magic, Victoria Schwab took cut-outs of the ADSOM cast on tour to celebrate the launch of A Conjuring of Light, the third book in the ADSOM series.

- It can sometimes seem, these days, that the literary world is one of the last bastions of civil discourse. Here are some fiery, but respectful, literary comment sections I’ve enjoyed recently. [Editor's note: I didn't know respectful comment sections were possible.]

Oprah’s first cookbook has arrived...

- ...and Chrissy Teigen talks cookbook credibility.

- Quirk Books celebrated the end of February with 28-word book summaries.

- I signed up for Tor's ebook of the month club, which offers a free sci-fi ebook each month followed by discussion posts, author features and more. This month they offered The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson. (If you haven't read Sanderson's Mistborn series yet, I highly recommend it! Starts out heavy on the world building, but is filled with lovable characters, unique, alchemy-type magic, and is worth reading all three books just for the ending.)

- And in truly random, historical bookish/foodie news, a recipe found in a medieval mystic’s writings is now thought to be for “‘dragges’ — herbal sweets used to refresh the palate and cure a variety of ills.”

Literary recipe: Chicken curry and yellow rice inspired by "Born A Crime"

Literary recipe: Chicken curry and yellow rice inspired by "Born A Crime"

Book club guide: "The Mothers" by Brit Bennett discussion questions and menu

Book club guide: "The Mothers" by Brit Bennett discussion questions and menu